Maple Tree Sprouts

IMG_5231Yesterday I was walking around my neighborhood and I noticed these sprouts coming out of the soil. I immediately turned to my partner and said, “Oh look, Maple Tree sprouts! You can tell because they look just like the seeds–the helicopter shaped ones you see in the fall.” But interestingly, I had never actually realized that they looked that way until I said it out loud in that moment. It reminded me that teaching others is often the best way to learn something yourself. I had know what these sprouts were, but never made the connection to how they looked until I was trying to describe it to someone else and, voila! I put the pieces together and learned something new and important about a plant that I thought I already knew quite well.

Leave a Reply

